The Burning Maze

The Burning Maze
Rick Riordan
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
May 30, 2023

The Burning Maze is the third book in the Trials of Apollo series and is written by Rick Riordan. In this book, Apollo must continue his quest to free five oracles from a trio of evil Roman Emperors who’ve created a group called Triumvirate Holdings in order to become a god once again. The first two books in this series, while solid and good, haven’t been that great. Compared to the two Greek and Roman mythological series in this universe (Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus) this series is definitely behind in comparison. That being said, I think this book is where the series is starting to change tides, because not only is this the best book in the series, but it’s the first great book in this series. This book paints Apollo and Meg as complex characters, and the side characters and cameos are also all great too. This book also balances tones and the plot very well, and it feels very fresh and new. Of all the books in this series, this is probably the best and I can’t wait to see what Riordan does with the two final books in this series.

Written by
Nihanth D.

Browse by Tag