Happily Ever After

Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass
Kiera Cass
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
Feb 17, 2021

Happily Ever After​ is a companion novel to ​The Selection​ series by Kiera Cass. The first story, “The Queen​,” tells how King Clarkson and Queen Amberly fell in love. Their relationship is very toxic; his tests were controlling and not justifiable because he didn't want to marry someone vain. The second story included, ​“The Prince.”​ retells the beginning of the Selection from Maxon's perspective. This one didn't add much to the series, but it was interesting to know that Maxon thought of America as a challenge and wanted to pursue her from the moment they met. As for “The Guard​,” it was unimportant; I understand that Cass was attempting to redeem Aspen in her readers' eyes, but this story didn't make me notice anything about his character that I hadn't previously. ​

“The Favorite”​ details how Marlee and Carter met and fell in love; although this story was short, it was one of my favorites in the book; their truly unconditional love was beautiful. The fifth story is all about Celeste, her thoughts and feelings during the Selection and after. I have always really enjoyed Celeste's character, but this story made me like her even more. The book's final story, “​The Maid​,” gave some insight into how Lucy and Aspen got together. Although this wasn't my favorite story, I loved the added depth it gave to Lucy's character. The final section of the book described the lives of the Elite after the competition; for the most part, it was boring, but I enjoyed the insight it gave into the girls' feelings. Overall, I liked this book, but some parts much more than others.

Written by
Taylor E.

Browse by Tag