The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Maggie Stiefvater
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
Jun 15, 2022

The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater, is the first book in The Raven Cycle series. It stars Blue Sargent, the daughter of a psychic, and four boys who attend Aglionby, the local private school. Her entire life, Blue has been cautioned that she will be the cause of her true love’s death. Blue doesn’t care, as she doesn’t believe in true love. But when she meets the boys, who are on a quest of sorts that interlaces two worlds (and causes havoc in both), she rethinks her lifelong “curse” and gets caught up in the strange demands of this mysterious quest.

This book was confusing at certain points, as the world and wants of the characters were not always defined enough. The plot-building was slow, but the book ended on a nice cliffhanger that left me wanting to read the next one. All of the storylines flowed together nicely and the main character, Blue, was very well-developed and likable. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a very different, spiritual, and mysterious kind of world.

Written by
Nala C.

Browse by Tag