Six of Crows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Leigh Bardugo
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
Feb 25, 2022

Six of Crows is the first book in a duology written by Leigh Bardugo. It is set in the same universe as a previous series by Bardugo, the Shadow and Bone trilogy. Six of Crows follows Kaz Brekker, a notorious thief and his crew, known as the Crows. Kaz is tasked with completing an impossible heist in order to rescue a scientist from the impenetrable Ice Court.

The characters are the standout in this book. Each of the six main characters has a unique personality and motivation, and their dynamics as a group are entertaining and compelling. The banter between the characters is impeccable. The book is very engaging, especially after the first few chapters. The world is well-developed and distinct compared to other fantasy novels. My only problem with this book is that the first few chapters are difficult to read. Bardugo mentions many characters that do not affect the plot and some of the terminology is confusing. You do not need to read the Shadow and Bone trilogy to enjoy this book.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy books, especially if you have previously read the Shadow and Bone trilogy and enjoyed it. I rate it 5 stars.

Written by
A. Gascich

Browse by Tag