Reviews

Staff Review
blonde bearded man in ball cap and blue shirt with baby in a backpack holding a feather

Oceans of Possibility Writing Contest Winner

By Ian James Fannin-Hughes
5
Rated by Helen H.
Sep 17, 2022

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Ian James Fannin-Hughes has won our writing contest on the theme of Oceans of Possibility with his piece "All You Wanted Was the Ocean."

Ian is an environmental scientist, grower of too much okra, father of human children, and an aspiring fiction writer from the Kansas side of the Blue River Watershed.

All You Wanted Was the Ocean

You wouldn't shut up about the ocean, either of you.

Staff Review
The spaceship The Hangman's Daughter over a sun

The Bastard Legion

By Gavin Smith
4
Rated by Anne G
Sep 14, 2022

The Bastard Legion is an action-packed thrill-ride into space warfare.  Gavin Smith stays in the very top tier of science fiction writers with his future mercenaries.  When I first saw the back of the book, I thought this military science fiction sounds like Suicide Squad.  And I was right - it even has a science fiction Australian guy with a killer boomerang.  The next question: is this space opera more like the mess of the movie or the well-crafted graphic novels?  

Teen Review
Back of a princess as she moves through the castle garden

Entwined

By Wallwork, Heather Dixon
4
Rated by Anne G
Sep 6, 2022

Entwined is a fairy-tale inspired fiction of the story The Twelve Dancing Princesses. It's a suspenseful retelling. If I'm honest, the folktale that inspired this fantasy fiction was never been one of my favorites. This author manages to take a rather thin story and turn it into something interesting with a hero that is a strong woman of steel! This atmospheric version is my favorite retelling.

 

Staff Review Aug 10, 2022

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that the winners to our summer contest writing on the theme of Oceans of Possibility. Our 15-19 year old winner is entitled, "The Perfect Underwater Seascape" by Naomi Adachie

The Perfect Underwater Seascape

Here, down under in the ocean blue

a little fish is looking for a view.

One most pleasing to the fish king,

for one can’t give him just anything.

 

You see, today is the king’s birthday

and he’s been asking for a scenic display.

Staff Review Aug 10, 2022

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that the winners to our summer contest writing on the theme of Oceans of Possibility. Our 12-14 year winner is entitled, "The Thank You Bag" by Kennedy Kirkland.

The Thank You Bag

The Ocean

Known for

Flowing, crashing waves

And an eternal blue hue

Color for miles on end

 

But far from where waves rise and fall,

Far from where laughter hovers in the air

Is a white, crinkled

Bag

With a bright yellow “Thank You” embroidered upon it

Staff Review Aug 10, 2022

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that the winners to our summer contest writing on the theme of Oceans of Possibility. Our 11 and under winner is a piece entitled, "Atlantis" by Liesel Kirchhofer.

Atlantis

A foggy mist disappears,
Unveiling a realm full of statues with three pegged spears,
And in the center of it all,
Raised on a platform so high and tall,
Is a gigantic busy, city enter,
Fit to house an emperor,
Supported by columns,
At the very bottom,

Staff Review Jul 22, 2022

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Molly Hopkins has won our short story writing contest on the theme of Oceans of Possibility with her piece "Dead or Alive."

Molly Hopkins is a feisty individual, who lives out adventures in her mind as there is little she can do with her body. Driven to writing due to a severe chronic illness, Molly finds purpose, intrigue, and joy in the world of her imagination and the art of storytelling. For more of her work, visit www.goldinthegray.com.

Staff Review
Cover for Summertime

Summertime

By David Lean
5
Rated by Zachary C
Jul 12, 2022

I cannot convey the excitement felt seeing this film get added to the library collection as a result of a newly restored version of the film being released on DVD.  Summertime is such a beautiful film.  Director David Lean (Lawrence of Arabia, The Bridge on the River Kwai, Doctor Zhivago) turns the camera to the city of Venice.  The city itself is one of the main characters, and it is beautifully captu