The Forgotten Girls

Sara Blaedel
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
Mar 29, 2017

In The Forgotten Girls, Detective Louise Rick returns to the area she grew up in for a fresh start. As the new head of the Missing Persons Department, she finds that her familiarity with the terrain makes things easier, however, confronting people from her past is tougher than she expects.

While reading, you get an inkling that there may be more than one mystery to be solved. True to Scandinavian crime fiction, this book doesn't shy away from tough subjects or gory details.

My mystery book group read this title and had mixed feelings: some wished Rick had done a little more police work herself; whereas others were hooked by the ending and plan to read the next title in the trilogy.

This is technically the 7th book in the Louise Rick series. Books 1, 5, and 6 of this Danish series were not translated to English. Books 2-4 have been published in English but are not necessary to reading The Forgotten Girls, which is marketed as the first of a trilogy.

Trilogy 1 (books 2-4)

Call Me Princess

Only One Life

Farewell to Freedom

Trilogy 2 (books 7-9)

The Forgotten Girls

The Killing Forest

The Lost Woman

Reviewed by Rachel N.
See their Lists and Reviews in our Catalog!